Tourism Development Focus Group

Apply for a Focus Group Position

This is your chance to have a positive impact in your community by volunteering for a Council Committee, Focus Group or Board. You can help contribute to Council’s decision making processes. The Town of Strathmore is looking for: individuals with a desire to give back to the community; individuals with specific expertise relevant to the qualifications of the specific board, focus or committee; individuals interested in the legislative process;
individuals with time available to commit to membership.

Tourism Development Focus Group Application 

The Tourism Development Focus Group shall be formed by the following:

  • One (1) Members of Council
  • One (1) Strathmore and District Chamber of Commerce Representative
  • One (1) Downtown Vitalization Focus Group Representative
  • Four (4) Community Business Owners/Operators from the following industries
    • Accommodations
    • Food and Beverage
    • Tourism Attraction
    • Retail
  • Two (2) Town of Strathmore Staff will provide support to the Focus Group

What we do

 This Focus Group will assist Council with the Development of a Destination Marketing Organization Group

No. of Positions

4- In addition to the members of the public, there are also representatives from Town Council (1).


Public Members shall be appointed to the Focus Group and shall remain members until the Focus Group has accomplished their mandate. The timeline to complete this mandate is January 31, 2021.

Eligibility Criteria – members

 Public members should be:

  • residents of Strathmore, and
  • at least 18 years of age


In addition to the above, preference will be given to applicants who:

  • have experience chairing a committee or board meeting;
  • have understanding of the Town of Strathmore Procedure Bylaw;
  • demonstrate strong time management skills; and
  • have previous experience with public engagement

Click here to view the full Terms of Reference


The Committee meets on the second Monday of each month at 5:00 pm.

Current Members

  • Ms. Terri Kinsman
  • Ms. Marlene Risdon
  • Mr. Curtis Solda
  • Ms Hayley Poirier

Agendas and Minutes


Contact Us