Culture and Wellbeing Task Force

Apply for a Position

Have a positive impact in your community by volunteering for a Council Committee, Board or Focus Group – you can help contribute to Council’s decision-making processes. The Town of Strathmore is looking for: individuals with a desire to give back to the community; individuals with specific expertise relevant to the qualifications of the specific board, focus or committee; individuals interested in the legislative process; and individuals with time available to commit to membership.

To apply, complete the Application Form here and email to, or return in person to the Strathmore Municipal Building at 1 Parklane Drive, Attention: Legislative Services. 

What we do

The Culture and Wellbeing Task Force shall:

  • Participate in the development of priorities for the Welcoming Strathmore Initiative, based on the terms of the current funding agreement with the Government of Alberta, to support the welcoming, integration, and retention of newcomers;
  • Participate in the development of priorities for the Cultural Connection Initiative, based on the terms of the current funding agreement with the Canadian Mental Health Association, to support rural mental health and wellbeing;
  • Provide direction on the delivery of project activities to achieve positive change and build a strong community;
  • Monitor progress and outcomes of funded social initiatives within the community;
  • Increase awareness of social issues and the services and resources available for Strathmore residents; and
  • Comply with the Town of Strathmore Boards and Committees Bylaw, Council Procedural Bylaw and Municipal Government Act.


  • The Task Force will meet a minimum of six (6) times a calendar year, or as agreed upon at a previous Task Force meeting.

Additional Information

Read the Culture and Wellbeing Task Force Terms of Reference here. 

Read the Boards and Committees Bylaw here. 

No. of Positions Open


Current Members

  • Carolyn Steeves
  • Jerrett Fawdry
  • Kelly Keating
  • Marcie Burtniak
  • Nyala Ponce
  • Sandy Kenney
  • Simron Sindhu
  • Sunday Adeola
  • Usha Maheswari
  • Councillor Melissa Langmaid


The term of the Task Force will be two (2) years, ending May 2025.

Members will be appointed for a term of up to two (2) years.

Structure and Eligibility

The Culture and Wellbeing Task Force will consist of:

  • A minimum of three (3) public-at-large representatives (Town residents);
  • A minimum of three (3) community organization representatives; and
  • One (1) Family and Community Support Services (FCSS) representative.
  • A maximum of 10 total members may make up the task force.

Preference will be given to applicants who:

  • Have an interest in fostering an inclusive and welcoming community
  • Have experience in event or program planning
  • Have experience with non-profit organizations

The Culture and Wellbeing Task Force will elect a chair during the first meeting following the Town of Strathmore’s Organizational Meeting.

Contact Us